Thursday, December 23, 2010

Tis the Season


Winter Running

Some people love it some people hate it. I however LOVE it. I dont know what it is, but running on snow is just a beautiful experience. As corny as that sounds, its true. The scenery, the cool air, and the feeling of snow on your feet. I find that I step quicker, and my running gate/foot gate changes completely. I run a bit slower, harder, but the runner's high hits pretty early.

Water, GU, and my ipod, bring it on winter running.

I do however dislike when the weather hits a specific temperature. For some reason when its in the 32-35 degrees, my traction is shot. But when its about 25-30 I am just fine. My legs, hamstrings, and IT bands begin to work TOO hard when its in the 32-35.

Goal for winter running: Do not run past 10 degrees, and try not to get hit this year by a car. There was a very close call last season.....

Tuesday, December 21, 2010

2010-Reflection


Its already December! Where did the year go??

After the Island Lake Triathlon, my body was ruined. I was sore for weeks. With left over ink on my calves and arms, I began to realize that the soreness was a reward for my hard work. Now reflecting on my training for the triathlon, the training paid off. I truly worked very hard to be in shape for this race. When the race was finished all I could think was “I trained for months, (a) I am THIS sore? (b) I did place 5th in my age group (c) I could of done better (d) HOLY MOLY that was hard.

I remember my brother mentioning to me that a couple of his friends were going to do a sprint triathlon. He said to them that his sister (me) was doing one also and that they should talk to me about training tips. These girls were not training, but just going “into it blind”. If you want to call it that. But I thought to myself “ they are going to be miserable” They did ok.

My new goal if to place top 3 in my age group at the SAME triathlon. I also want to run a ½ marathon. Not to register and not go.

The Detroit Marathon 2010- was a no show for me. Unfortunately due to difficulties with my ankle and training I was unable to accomplish this race. I was very upset, but I had to assess the situation, I could (a) run it, get a stress fracture and be done with running for at least 6 weeks OR (b) stop training, recover and continue running. I was bummed out the fact that I was unable to run this race, but hey what can you do?

After recovering I began to run again. I started loosing weight, while I was cycling more and lifting more---but still wanted to be lean and fit. I am running right now, only about 4 miles, and the snow is GREAT. I love running in the snow. I don’t know what it is about it, but the scenery, the feeling on your feet, the ability to run without overheating, etc. What is better? Ok fall weather is better, but this is perfect. I loci the fluffy feeling on your feet, the snow hitting your face, and the ability to run and be cool no matter what. I love the gear too; you can wear awesome high tech-awesome looking gear. All of my Nike Active Gear is ready for action.

New opportunities have been presented to me this year. I was asked to teach/introduce a Teen Studio Cycling at my YMCA. We have not had a cycling class, but I was asked to teach it since I work with “tweeners” and kids all the time. Wish me luck. I have lots of cycling workouts and ideas for encouraging teens to exercise.

Obesity in young adults is overwhelming now. According to National Center for Chronic Disease Prevention and Health Promotion, Division of Adolescent and School Health

"Childhood obesity has more than tripled in the past 30 years. The prevalence of obesity among children aged 6 to 11 years increased from 6.5% in 1980 to 19.6% in 2008. The prevalence of obesity among adolescents aged 12 to 19 years increased from 5.0% to 18.1%.1,2

How did it get to this? My goal as a future teacher is to educate students about the visual arts BUT also about the benefits of healthy living. Why are schools cutting the Arts and Physical Education. I dont get it? Ask yourself, What is more important than Health? What??? Nothing? Then why are the Physical Edu classes being cut? I see so many kids today taking the elevator, eating unhealthy food, watching too much tv, unable to place sports because they dont know how to, or dont have parents to help them/want to play with them. Where are the parents to help support and communicate to their children that being healthy and not obese is whats important!

thats my 2 cents for the day.

Long Term Goals: Iron Man

Sunday, September 19, 2010

Island Lake Triathlon Aug 22, 2010

The temperature is changing, the leaves are turning, and the fall races are coming up.

With all of the training that happened this summer, I thought I'd be ready for Detroit 1/2 Marathon.

In a nutshell my summer nostly consiste of 7mile runs at max and lots of triathlon training.

Swim Bike Run....repeat.

Many hours at the lake preparing for this race. The Island Lake Triathlon was the goal.

The night before, chicken, baked potato, and lots pf water. I was in bed around 6:00pm. I do not know how that happened. Woke up around 3:30 am to get ready. Feeling great and strong I began to check off things on my list. Goggles, swim cap, number, cell phone, bike, pump, shoes,etc etc. As I pulled the car out of the driveway arounf 5:00 am, I called my friend. "I am going to forget something, I swear!!" She said to go through each transition---I did, I was prepared.

I hit the road around 5:10am for Brighton, Mi. I turned on my radio and started to JAM out to some music. I was ready!

Before the sun was up, I pulled in. Thank gosh I had my head lamp---life saver. I pulled my stuff out and rolled my bike over to my station. After my number was written on my legs and arms---my heart started to race.

Kira and I sat and watched the calm water around 7:00am, people were still coming in attempoting to register and get a number. Her heart was racing according to her HR monitor. Soon we would be wainting in the water after the first wave.

When I was walking back I hear "Margaret!!" My boyfriend and boss were standing by the fencing waving---now I have a audience.

Waiting in the water was the worst thing ever----unable to know exactly when the airhorn was going to go off. Suddenly my heart raced and I started to swim. Unable to contain my excited I panicked. I began to swallow water, going to the side every second I could. I practiced, and practiced---but this swim was going to be a rough one. People swimming by me, me pasing others----unable to get a full breathe of air. Thinking, "Keep swimming, you can do it! You're almost done, keep going!" This swim felt like 3 miles----and finally I made it to the end, I emerged from the water, ripping off my swim cap and goggles. My legs felt like jelly, and my arms were stiff. I began to transition and cstch my breathe at the same time.

As my head started to spin as I put my cycling shoes---"one down two to go!"

I looked for Kira's bike, I did not see her.

I hit the road---coming out of the transition area I motion for others to go ahead--I was just tired! the cycle was rough at first, the Olympic and men athletes were FLYING past. Their 3 grand tri bikes were just showing off at this point. It was beautiful music to my ears.

I struggled most of the ride, ranging from 13-20 miles per hour. Wanting to just stop. But around mile 10 I finally got into the groove of things. A woman and I were battling on the hills---she'd pull ahead, I would pull ahead.

Once I was in the transition area again, my boss yells, "How much fun are you having right now Margaret??" I said, "Lots"

Soon onto the running portion, I walked up the hill. Calves on fire---I lovely lady asked, "Do you want someone to run with??"

We talked, and began the 3 mile run. I was thinking, "I am a runner, I am a swimmer and a cyclist, WHY IS THIS SO HARD?? WHY AM I STRUGGLING??"

I finished 1:40, I was 5th in my group and 7 minutes away from placing 3rd. SO CLOSE!

My run was slow, and my swim was even slower!

Next year right?

In the end, Kira and I hugged, happy that we finished.



Saturday, July 10, 2010

Energy Products

PowerBar Gel Packets
Depending on the texture that you like, 5/5 is what I give this product. I personally enjoy using PowerBar Gel compared to GU packets. The texture is custard like, a bit thick and intense at first, but you'll eventually get use to it.

PowerBar Gel Blasts
UPDATE: Heartburn :(

Just bought these. Thought I'd give it a try, unfortunately I freaked out for a second due to the products ingredients listing:
"Ingredients

C2 MAX ENERGY BLEND (SUGAR, GLUCOSE SYRUP FROM WHEAT, INVERT SUGAR), WATER, GELATIN, 2% OR LESS OF: RASPBERRY PUREE, RASPBERRY JUICE CONCENTRATE, SODIUM ASCORBATE (VITAMIN C), CITRIC ACID, TARTARIC ACID, MALIC ACID, SODIUM CITRATE, GLYCERIN, CARRAGEENAN, LOCUST BEAN GUM, NATURAL FLAVORS, SORBITOL, COCONUT AND/OR PALM KERNEL OIL, CARNAUBA WAX, BLACK CARROT JUICE COLOR. MADE ON EQUIPMENT THAT ALSO PROCESSES MILK."

I thought, O no. But according to the website:

• Wheat/Gluten: Gel Blasts energy chews do contain glucose syrup which is made from wheat, but do not contain gluten. PowerBar Gel Blasts energy chews do not contain rye, oats or barley. If you are allergic to rye, oats or barley, we recommend that you could use Gel Blasts energy chews. If you are allergic to wheat, we recommend that you do not use Gels Blasts energy chews. If you are gluten intolerant, we cannot define Gel Blasts energy chews as a gluten-free product since this is a claim not yet defined by FDA but there is a proposed definition under consideration. Traditionally "gluten-free" simply meant that the product contained no ingredients that were a source of gluten harmful to those with celiac sprue/gluten intolerance — rye, oats, wheat and barley, as opposed to gluten from corn or rice which is not harmful.

• Consult with your physician for more information on food allergies or sensitivities.
So we're good! I'll update on this product soon!

GU Packets
I tried the Vanilla Bean, very different compared to the PowerBar. I did not like these gels. They were hard and hard to swallow when running. The flavor was icky, and the texture was similar to solidified honey.


SportsBeans

Quick and easy to swallow. I was always worried about running with these, because I would smile to car when running, and thought, "My teeth are most likely stained red from these beans" Because I would spit too, and it would be red. Red Saliva=red teeth?!

If you don't want to consume the entire Gel packet or energy bar, these could help towards the last stretch or mile of your runs. I defiantly recommend.



Tuesday, June 29, 2010

Hot, humid, and sweaty runs. I cant wait til fall and winter.
I miss the winter runs. Those were the best!



Training is going well. I wish I could run more, but I am so tired. I am currently cutting calories to loose the stomach, and drop my body fat percentage.

Carbs, becoming gluten free due to Celiac purposes, I miss pasta, bread, and carbs. I miss eating a bowl of pasta with turkey meat sauce. I miss pancakes!

Carbs, how can I run without my carbs??


Sunday, May 23, 2010

Let the summer sweating begin...with an improved mile time

80 degrees, sunny, and humid.

I find that this is going to be a familiar phrase this summer. Thanks to global warming, and extreme amounts of CO2 emissions, Michigan's summer weather is going to be a bit warmer than others. Early morning runs, and a fuel belt.

This summer there will be: 1) T-Rex Triathlon 2) 1/2 marathon Detroit

Two solid goals. With some in between small goals. Cycle as much as I can, and swim as much as I can.

After many months of painful and frustrating stomach problems, I finally went to the Doctor and they diagnosed me with IBS. Irritable Bowel Syndrome. I was already lactose intolerant, and gluten/wheat free as well. So what can I eat now???

I wonder if this will effect my running?

As I continue to understand what I can and cannot eat, and how to manage my swelling stomach, the running is going very well.

Pollen and chest pain?

At the beginning of the running, I was only able to run about 1.5-2.0 miles. I was having chest pain and berthing problems. Was this due to the increase of pollen in the air? or was this due to the shoes I was running in. I was running in my Mizuno Alchemy shoes, which are not stability and motion control shoes. Could that be a possible cause of the chest pain.

Ice, ice, and more ice. Discovering the quick recovery...
I run, then ice for about an hour. I ice all of my shins, as well as where I injured myself.
As well as cycling and swimming as a cardio-recovering activity.

TIP: When swimming, people tend to cross over with their arms when plunging into the water during their strokes/swimming. This can cause extra movement and shifting of the body. Try over exaggerating your strokes and "scooping" more towards the outer sides. As well as try to let your thumbs hit the water first, this is train your arms to not cross to the opposite side. Try it, it improved my swimming time!


Commuter Challenge
I bike as much as I can to work. I bike on average about 40-60 miles a week just for work and shopping. Hopefully not too much rain this month!

New ideas & additions to my life
New apartment, new bike, some new gear, and a fresh start to the running. Those 3 months of indoor biking and cross training really did pay off. My milage time has improved by about a minute. I mean towards the end of my runs in the summer/fall/winter of 2009 before the injury, I would end with a quick mile time. But starting off was rough and slow. I needed to warm up and get in the groove. Now I start with a quick mile time and end with an even faster time. I have heard: cycling really improves ones running, by strengthening the hips and quads.

--- I guess I can look at it as a good thing: Getting injured allowed myself to realize building up to a marathon takes patience and planning. The injury also made me bike indoors strengthing my legs and focusing me on my abs, arms, and swimming.


I do know I will have a cheering partner at my races. The recent boyfriend will be cheering me on as much as he can!

I have now been cooking and recording the new and interesting recipes I create and find at: http://livingglutendairyandwheatfree.blogspot.com/

I want to start a cooking class for kids at my local YMCA. Wish me luck!




Saturday, May 15, 2010

I'm back in the game. Detroit, here I come!


Running once again. Its a miracle!

Note: Listen to your body, if it hurts stop, rest, ice. Dont push it, I did that, which led to 3 months of indoor biking & swimming (Did I mention, I was unable to walk down the stairs and cross streets quickly...?)

More soon

Thursday, April 1, 2010

No Motivation...


When the warm weather hit An Arbor, I did not have any motivation to start running again. I did some inside running, but just didn't seem to want to jump into it. I am nervous to be honest. I dont want to injure myself again. Plus with school and final projects I am unable to dedicate myself to running.

More specifically, I would get discouraged easily only running about 1 mile every session, but on the other hand, I could bike for 40 minutes--the commute to school and be completely satisfied with that workout. Hitting two birds with one stone!

The commute to school:
Packard sucks! I have two routes.

1) Take State --> Stadium -->Washtenaw -->Platt -->Packard-->EMU total: 15.1 miles

This route allows myself to avoid that transition from Eisenhower to Packard. Almost died there one day. Plus the road to incredibly bumpy and unable to successfully ride efficiently to class

2) Drive (against my new goal) to Gallup Park, ride the B2B to Eastern. total: 16.9 miles

Beautiful route through the woods and somewhat decent road. Almost got hit at the Dixboro transition from trail to road by WCC.
Note to self: Do NOT "guess" what the traffic lights are doing.

Hit count: 2 Wipe out count : 3

Biking:
Biking is fantastic. Meeting new people, discovering new routes. Commuting to school is not bad at all. The only thing that bothers me is sitting in class semi-tired and sweaty, then I get cold because I sweat so much, the cool down is great until I am back to normal. Then I have to layer up!

Summer Goals:
1) Eventually no car use
2) Triathlon
3) Be running 6 milers
4) Loose those body fat, lower 5-8 %
5) Bike up north


Overall: Waiting for school to be done, and hopefully get back to running. New running shoes, new season.

Theres a chick in my class who was a CC runner for most of her life. She was like me, always wanted to go for a run, needed to go for runs. She was running in thw winter, fell on some ice. Now has 3 pins in her ankle and a metal plate somewhere. She is in a cast and unable to run for 6 months. I CANT complain!




Friday, February 5, 2010

Its NOT a stress fracture!




Chapter 3- Diagnosis & physical therapy.

I now can go down the stairs without my shin/leg hurting! That’s a good thing right?

I went to for the Free Running Clinic, a wonderful PT helped me treat or begin to fix what I had done to my leg.

Use the diagram above.

Probility Here it goes:

The muscles attached or near the fibula are "stuck" to the bone and move with it for support. Basically I dealt with shin splints before, but that time the muscles of the "extensor digitrum longus" aka outer shin muscle was being stressed from a) bad support b) not strong enough shin muscles c) running down hill/pounding of the foot and leg.

With this said, the first shin splint "episode" was called Anterior Compartment Syndrome--shin splints. Small fractures of the bone due to the stress of the muscle and it pulling away from the bone. After healing from that I got new and efficient support. This gave

1) More arch support

2) More power to my stride

3) Motion control shoe to stabilize me feet from over pronating.

My muscles felt better. However, due to the fact that I was running a lot on "bad shoes" or inefficient support (arch pain/taping and extra movement) cause my muscles to adjust to the problems---which the body is supposed to do. THEN, with the new support and gear, my body needed to readjust and accommodate itself to the new stuff. So as this was happening two things occurred.

1) Mileage went up too quick

2) Less days of running, but longer run periods. (ie: not running everyday, but 3xweek 7-8.5 miles each run)

Thus causing more time, stress, and exercise on the attempting to readjust muscles. This made them (the muscles) UN happy. Basically I did not allow my body to adjust without extra strain and stress caused by my increased mileage and running time.

Bad move Betty.

NOW, the next chapter begins.

My quads and thighs have exploded in my opinion. A friend said, "When you walked towards me, your legs/things look great, super muscular!!!"

a) I was flattered

b) Slightly embarrassed--but I mean come one I’ve been on the bike for a month now!

Continuing with explaining my "diagnosis"...

As you can see on the diagram above, the soleus located on the back part of your calf muscles (there are different names and other muscles back there too, I just don’t know all of them :-o) this muscle was the muscle that was adjusting itself when I had bad support and when I had new good support. This strain on the muscle with the incorporation of extra use caused it to pull back toward my heel/back part of my calf. This is a natural thing the human body does---it was: bulking: up to support, so the muscles pulled back. This caused a pain in my lower front shin. As of right now the SOLEUS is damaged and that is the pain.

I assume.... to be continued.

Anyways.

Got new shoes.

Best 140 I’ve ever spent. Now I can spin inside with actual spinning shoes. Boo-yaw

Now that I'm broke, it’s a good day.

Note to whom ever reads/to runners:

LISTEN TO YOUR BODY, I feel like runners are notorious for this. We run, and don’t stop. If you have pain, play it safe, rest. Don’t do what I did.

Second, follow the 10% rule. Increase total mileage and daily miles by 10%, this allows your body to adjust to the stress that is put on it.


Sunday, January 31, 2010





So much homework. But the dog was here to distract me. Being a teacher takes a lot of work and time.

New bike, new training session. Thats what I am looking forward too!

I'm really good at swimming now. I've discovered I have to kick with my hips---More power and pull. As well as I need to learn how to do the "dragging" drills, where you drag your fingers to get your elbows up.

the shin hurts, going down the stair, walking, speed walking, on the elliptical, when will it feel normal???

Saturday, January 23, 2010



Here it is. the deadly schedule for the spring.

1) must stick with 10% increase in total milage to avoid injury

2) bike and swim for recovery

3) strengthen leg and hips

4) Listen to my body--if something hurts, STOP, and heal

Went on the Pre-core elliptical the other day---my shin hurt. Thats not a good sign--and easy cardio machine, and my injury hurts. STRESS FRACTURE FOR SURE right?

Im already sick of biking and swimming :(

Sunday, January 17, 2010

It may mean not running, but its a new chapter.


After researching and attempting to diagnose this problem I've been dealing with, I have come to the conclusion of "Hey, it'll be rough at first, but lets look at the bright side right?" I mean it means no running---alright, so now I turn the page and begin chapter 2. Chapter one was run, run and be free. Chapter two--focus on biking and swimming. For biking this means getting a bike and actually getting out on the roads. For swimming this means working on my technique, stroke, and speed. I need to learn to breathe on both sides as well as strengthen my right foot----some weird tendon is pulling after a certain amount of swimming/kicking.

So Chapter 2---a new start. Keep my muscle I've created, and work on strengthening my arms, abs, and quads. I plan to get up to par for the new biking season.

goals-

Swim 4-5 times a week, 1-2.5 miles each swim, about 40-55 laps, which means 2000-2500 meters
Biking- only indoors for now. 30-55 minute sessions ~ about 8-20 miles

Free Weights and machines- 20-30 minutes, arms, biceps, triceps, shoulders, back etc.
Abs- crunches and continue to strengthen core

Once pain goes away in shin begin to stability and strengthen the tendons and muscles in ankle and knees.

Stretch and ice/massage in between to continue healing process.

Phew, sound good guys?

its going to be LEGEND---wait for it----DARY! thank you barney stinsen...

Saturday, January 16, 2010

I've hit a wall

I have hit a wall. I worked so hard to where I am in running, and with the pain in my right shin continuing I took a recovery week. The pain kept pestering me, and now I am worried. After a week and a half off---I am unable to run. A shooting pain is in my shin when I begin to do a brisk walk.

People have said it's most likely a stress fracture. Since the pain in pin pointed in my area, and has not gone away---its mostly likely not shin splints.

Its part my fault. A) I ran a lot on a bad leg.... B) ran a lot on bad support.

So now here I am sad as ever. Because my "Quest for a marathon" has been put on hold.

My remedies:

1) No running for 1 or 2 months
2) ice
3) massage my shin as much as I can
4) go to my doc, x-rays??
5) lots of biking and swimming, and weight
6) Take off the winter, start back up in the spring.

Months and months of miles, gone.

What I am worried about:

1) will this happen again?
2) How long do I wait?
3) Whats wrong with me? haha
4) Im going to loose so much muscle from this recovery
5) To be honest, watching people run and what not has made me really sad...im kinda bummed out :(

6) Will I be ready for this summers race??
7) When lace armstrong broke his collar bone, how did he recovery so strongly. I mean I understand it takes time and I am used to running everyday---but I mean hes always needing to be training--how did he stay in shape for cycling with a broken collar bone??



Sunday, January 10, 2010

When the steam rises from your shoes...

Steam...
I knew that I had a great run--when I took off my shoes outside of my car to change into my boots, I saw steam rising from my shoes. Incredible, and so interesting at the same time.

The battle with the shin splints...
Recently my right shin has been bothering me, it has kept me from running the last couple of days. However, I rested, swam, biked inside, and was back on the road today. Incredible day, I thought it would of been a lot colder, but it turned out to be pretty warm for 14-16 degrees and sunny!

I use to run in dexter, the country roads, and beautiful no traffic atmosphere. However, from running from my house (in dexter) I would have to immediately start with going down a hill. :-/ As cool as that is, it ruins my shins from the start. I used to be able to do a 8.5 mile run in Dexter, but due to recent shin problems from christmas, I try to avoid an accident waiting to happen.

Ace Deuce-
So now Ann Arbor is the spot. I run through down town, I run on the busy roads (Almost getting hit by a car count:5). I just love it. I see people and they clearly don't see me---for instance today a man from where I work, (an 80 yr old still weight lifting and going strong!!) always says hi to me at work, honked at me today when I was running! It was the motivation I needed as well as it put a smile on my face.

The Seasons and Michigan's Terrible weather...
Now to me, summer running is nice, I sweat unbelievably more than others (its healthy), I just get too hot too quick. But I love the sun. Fall Running on the other hand was spectacular! The cool temperatures and the beautiful colors of the leaves. The rain---wasn't so great. But just visibly seeing the leaves change throughout this season---allowing me to get a lot of miles in ;).

Something inspirational is stated below...
Finally, winter. The season of well I found this quote online "Winter is nature's way of saying, "Up yours." ~Robert Byrne

I agree with that, only on one occasion, driving. Driving is terrible when the snow comes down. However running, that is a complete different story. I had a fellow runner state an interesting observation or opinion about winter--how its a balance and finding the right amounts of layers, with chap-stick, and blah blah...can't remember exactly everything he said (sorry Remi, clearly I cant quote), but I agree with him. It is totally a balance thing, when you have the right amounts of layers, and hats, gloves, and leggings, you can peel off layers, or take your gloves off to feel the cold on your hands. Something inspirational like that.

But today I ran 7.8 miles. The cold was nothing! But, the amount of layers was perfect. I was hot from working hard, but I didn't need anything bulky or heavy. My hat and back were soaked by the end, but great day.

The gear...
Finally the new inserts. When first started to run (mentioned in previous post 3-4 miles here and there) I had neutral shoes, just normal Asics, however as I began to run more---I began to have arch pain. SO, I started to tape my arch. It helped tremendously! Then I got use to that, and shin splints came into the picture!! So I just kept taping my foot. It became a BATTLE with the tape. If I didn't tape it right, I would have pain. Some good days and some bad days of taping. Oo, the those where the days of fall. THEN, I talked to some fellow workers, and they said come get fitted at a running store. SO I did, and Now I have these shoes. Saucony Stabil. See picture. O my, how these shoes have a) increased my milage, b) made my feet feel better.
Continuing after the new shoes, I was taping with the Stabil shoes. O it did wonders. Then the pain/shin splints made another appearance. So I went back to the store. "Powersteps" inserts were my next experiment. Iw ore them around the house, at work in my Stabil shoes. FANTASTIC support, for cheap $$ (compared to professional orthotics which can be so much money) and light weight. Thus this leads this story to now. I ran today with the new inserts. HOLY MOLY, great. No tape either. That use to be my security blanket, if I must say so.

I look goofy...the gear helps, it makes me look like I know what I'm doing...which it true sometimes.
So now the journey of "surviving winter" continues.

Happy Running everyone.

Wednesday, January 6, 2010

The beginning...



This quest for a marathon has been a process I must say. It all began in the summer, when I went through a rough patch in my life. To be honest I was betrayed and hurt. So I began to run. At the beginning it was 3-4 miles here and there. The summer heat was contributing to the distance but running felt great. I felt free, and calm, I was running the bad times out of my system and becoming a stronger person.

After finally getting situation in a new living place---at home I began to feel deprived of my independence?! to say lightly. So I ran more. I spent more time at school and the gym than I did at home. I ran till I was so tired I'd fall asleep and repeat the next day.

I would have to say it was a but intense for a beginner. I was running 4-5 miles a day and either swimming, or spinning after the run. I felt great physically, but then a marathon runner and some online advice directed me to a more efficient workout training plan.

One of my goals at the time was a "sprint" in East Lansing which consisted of running 3 miles, biking 12 miles, and swimming 0.5 miles. I thought I could do it, but I chickened out since no one could go with me to the race. Plus I didn't have a "race" bike.

Second goal 1/2 marathon at the Detroit Free Press Marathon in October. I started training late due to delayed impulsive decisions, with that said I wasn't confident enough to run 13 miles. I was running about 5-7 miles confidently.

Now here is where the real "marathon" training begins. I have two goals to go for.

1) Dexter-Ann Arbor Run in May
2) Ann Arbor Triathlon at Half-moon Lake in June.

So now I have new shoes, inserts, and gear that will enhance my running.
I now run about 30 miles a week and mapping my routes.
I am hoping by the spring Ill have a bike and be running 40 miles a week.

its a slow process. If I go up too fast in milage ill get shin splints which I have been battling with for a while now. Winter is defiantly slowing me down---but I have managed to get a lot of good-long runs in despite the cold temperatures and wind.
The snow is supportive on my feet when my arches hurt as well as the coolness helps me not sweat like Niagara Falls. Plus the sky, snow, and just winter wonder land aspect is just so peaceful.

To a new year! 40-45 miles a week hopefully, new road bike---hopefully get on the roads and bike, loose some extra pounds, finish the dexter-ann arbor run, and complete the sprint triathlon in june!

More late...